In response to growing enquiries about Virtual Group Consultations (Shared Medical Appointments) as a potential solution to delivering safe, effective care during the current COVID-19 crisis, we are delighted to be collaborating with the British Society of Lifestyle Medicine on their important and timely initiative; an invitation to learn about conducting Virtual Group Visits via a free online webinar series.

Taking place this Thursday 9 April, the webinar series will provide an overview of Virtual Group Consultations, as well as offer advice and support to clinicians around the world who want to safely and efficiently support their patients with chronic disease during the international lockdown.

This could help your clinical teams to:

  • Inform and empower patients at high risk of COVID-19
  • Manage triage of COVID-19 symptomatic patients safely and efficiently
  • Provide continuity of care for chronic disease patients you would normally see face to face
  • Consider virtual groups for antenatal care
  • Motivate and engage staff who are self-isolating or infected by contributing to the effort and safely delivering care

The webinar series will be hosted by Rob Lawson, Chair of the British Society of Lifestyle Medicine, and President of the European Lifestyle Medicine Council, with input from group consultation experts from around the world, including Alison Manson (Group Consultations Training Lead), Dr Fraser Birrell (BSLM Director of Science & Research), Dr Marianne Sumego (Cleveland Clinic), Prof Garry Egger, Dr John Stevens (Southern Cross University) and Dr Jessica Lewis (Yale).

Please note not all experts will join all webinars.

Rob Lawson
Rob Lawson
Dr Fraser Birrell
Dr Fraser Birrell
Alison Manson
Alison Manson
Prof Garry Egger
Prof Garry Egger
Dr Jessica Lewis
Dr Jessica Lewis
A/Prof John Stevens
A/Prof John Stevens
Dr Marianne Sumego
Dr Marianne Sumego

This will flag new resources available for those who have already delivered group consultations face to face on adapting to virtual groups, as well as allowing clinicians who haven’t previously delivered group consultations to do this virtually.

Webinar sessions

The timings are as follows for the major time zones from which we anticipate significant attendance via the Australasian Society of Lifestyle Medicine and the American College of Lifestyle Medicine.

However, please forward the link to your colleagues in other nations: global problems have global solutions and we want to share this across the whole lifestyle medicine community and beyond. If in doubt, send it out!

All content and presentations will be made available after the event if you are unable to attend on the day. If you have any questions, please contact .

Session 1

08:00 BST

03:00 EDT

17:00 AEST

Register

Session 2

14:00 BST

09:00 EDT

23:00 AEST

Register

Session 3

20:00 BST

15:00 EDT

05:00 AEST (Fri 10 April)

Register